Click here to enable the LWC Speech Accessibility Tool.
Apprenticeship > State Apprenticeship Council

State Apprenticeship Council

The State Apprenticeship Council was established to aid in administering the apprenticeship laws and regulations of this state. The Council is comprised of nine members, appointed by the Director over the Office of Workforce Development, representing the general public, labor, and management, as follows:

  1. Three representatives of employers;
  2. Three representatives of employee organizations who are party to a Louisiana-approved apprenticeship program;
  3. Two members representing the general public;
  4. The state official in charge of trade and industrial education (ex-officio).


Pursuant to Louisiana Law Title 40, Part IX, Chapter 1, the purpose of the State Apprenticeship Council is to:

  1. Aid in formulating policies for the effective administration of the state apprenticeship program;
  2. Establish standards which shall represent the minimum standards required for approval of apprenticeship program standards for any proposed apprenticeship program sponsor making application for registration of a program;
  3. Issue such rules and regulations as may be necessary to carry out the purpose and intent thereof;
  4. Perform such other functions as the Director may direct;
  5. Assure an opportunity for young people to obtain training that will equip them for profitable employment and promote employment opportunities for these young people under conditions providing adequate training and reasonable earnings as stated in Section 381 of the Louisiana Apprenticeship Law;
  6. Appoint a committee in a trade or group of trades in which there is no bona fide employer or employee organization, from persons known to represent interests of employers and employees respectively; and
  7. Approve the deregistration of programs that fail to meet Apprenticeship standards.


Council Members

Employer Organization Representatives:

Henry G. Heier, Chair, Mechanical Contractors Association of Louisiana, Inc.
    Post Office Box 51238, New Orleans, LA 70151
Claire Nettles, ABC New Orleans Bayou Chapter

Employee Organization Representatives:

Nicholas G. Felton, Jr., New Orleans Fire Fighters
Brent Moreland, IBEW Local 194
Andrew O’Brien, New Orleans and Baton Rouge Insulators JAC

General Public Representatives:

Woody Oge, Chairman, Louisiana Community and Technical College System

Ex-Officio Members:

Keith Brand, Louisiana Workforce Investment Council
Monty Sullivan, President, Louisiana Community and Technical College System

Louisiana Workforce Commission

Susana Schowen, Secretary
Vacant, Director of Apprenticeship and Acting Council Secretary
Michael Knapps, Apprenticeship Supervisor