Date:January 27, 2011
Contact:Public Relations @ (225) 342-3035

Employers Encouraged to File Quarterly Reports Online to Avoid Potential Penalties

BATON ROUGE – The upcoming Jan. 31, 2011, deadline for Louisiana employers to file their quarterly wage reports and pay employment taxes for the fourth quarter of 2010 also signals the last date to avoid penalties for those employers who have not complied with all filing requirements, the Louisiana Workforce Commission (LWC) said today.

Laws that went into effect in 2010 allow for penalties on employers who do not use LWC forms or who do not submit complete information, such as including Social Security numbers for all employees. The LWC sent warning letters last fall to 28,000 employers who were not in full compliance when filing their third quarter 2010 reports and would have been subject to a penalty.

Employers who are not in compliance with filing requirements with their fourth quarter 2010 reports will be subject to a penalty of 5 percent of the total amount due for that quarter, or $25, whichever is greater, if the failure is for not more than 30 days. There is an additional penalty of 5 percent of the total amount due for the quarter or $25, whichever is greater, for each additional 30-day period during which the failure continues, not to exceed 25 percent of the amount due for the quarter or $125, whichever is greater.

The LWC recommends employers file online through its website to ensure timely filing. Recent enhancements to the free online service include the ability to:

- Upload wages using an LWC-approved Excel spreadsheet

- View benefit charge statements and rate notices

- Have taxes instantly calculated

- Receive instant feedback on filing

- Update account information

- Create an agent account to file for clients

- Access online service now

Companies with 200 or more employees are required by law to submit their reports electronically, either by inputting data directly into LWC’s secure online system, uploading an LWC-approved Excel spreadsheet form, or uploading a magnetic media file (for single employers only.) In 2012, all employers with 100 or more employees will be required to file electronically, and by 2014, the requirement will apply to ALL employers.

To file a quarterly report or to set up on an online account to use the free service, employers should go to and select the “File Quarterly Tax Report” link under the Businesses graphic in the center of the home page, or click here. Companies needing assistance can call 225-342-2992.

Note: This revision date does not reflect the revision date of the press release shown. Press Release postings are updated as needed and should be considered accurate as shown.